Gabe in the After

Shannon Doleski

Mark Sanderlin (Narrator)

06-28-22

4hrs 28min

Abridgement

Unabridged

Genre

Fiction/Science Fiction

As low as $0.00
Play Audio Sample

06-28-22

4hrs 28min

Abridgement

Unabridged

Genre

Fiction/Science Fiction

Description

“The book’s parallels to current events invite readers to try to find that tender, elusive spot between resigned nihilism and blind hope in a world that is both brutal and beautiful.” Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books (starred review)

A post-apocalyptic upper middle-grade adventure with a first-crush romance, perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead and Shannon Hale

It’s fourteen-year-old Gabe Sweeney’s day to check for survivors … 

Two years after a global pandemic, twenty survivors (most of them children) have relocated from their coastal Maine island full of sad memories to a mansion on a small, neighboring island where they have school and farm chores. When Gabe and his dog, Mud, find Relle Douglas alone in the woods on the mainland, they take the strange new girl across the channel to live with them. 

Relle changes the island with her hopeful attitude. She tells big stories and makes plans for activities like talent shows. Despite a growing crush, Gabe doesn’t quite understand the point of it all; why have a talent show at the end of the world? But when tragedy strikes, Gabe sets out on a dangerous journey to find other survivors where the world might be normal. Like Before. 

Lightly inspired by Anne of Green GablesGabe in the After is a moving and heartfelt story about the end of the world—and what perseveres through it.

Praise

“The book’s parallels to current events invite readers to try to find that tender, elusive spot between resigned nihilism and blind hope in a world that is both brutal and beautiful.” Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books (starred review)

“Weaves cozy and romantic elements with a haunting sense of loss, detailing the swift, shattering changes that can come with disaster.” Publishers Weekly

“Mark Sanderlin narrates a novel loosely inspired by Anne of Green Gables—if Anne had lived through a pandemic…Sanderlin captures Relle’s similarities to Anne Shirley through rushed dialogue that reveals her talkativeness and enthusiasm. As he portrays Relle’s dreaminess, the listener is also reminded of Anne.” AudioFile

Details
More Information
Language English
Release Day Jun 27, 2022
Release Date June 28, 2022
Release Date Machine 1656374400
Imprint Blackstone Publishing
Provider Blackstone Publishing
Categories Children's Books, Action & Adventure, Science & Technology, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Children/YA, Children 8-12, Fiction - All, Fiction - Child
Author Bio
Shannon Doleski

Shannon Doleski is the author of Mary Underwater, which received a starred review from Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books, who called it “perfect for readers not quite ready for Laurie Halse Anderson.” She was born and raised in Cazenovia, New York. After graduating from Niagara University with an English education degree, Doleski was an English teacher and swim coach in New York and Maryland. She lives with her family in West Texas. Visit her author website at ShannonDoleski.com.

Narrator Bio

Overview

A post-apocalyptic upper middle-grade adventure with a first-crush romance, perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead and Shannon Hale

It’s fourteen-year-old Gabe Sweeney’s day to check for survivors … 

Two years after a global pandemic, twenty survivors (most of them children) have relocated from their coastal Maine island full of sad memories to a mansion on a small, neighboring island where they have school and farm chores. When Gabe and his dog, Mud, find Relle Douglas alone in the woods on the mainland, they take the strange new girl across the channel to live with them. 

Relle changes the island with her hopeful attitude. She tells big stories and makes plans for activities like talent shows. Despite a growing crush, Gabe doesn’t quite understand the point of it all; why have a talent show at the end of the world? But when tragedy strikes, Gabe sets out on a dangerous journey to find other survivors where the world might be normal. Like Before. 

Lightly inspired by Anne of Green GablesGabe in the After is a moving and heartfelt story about the end of the world—and what perseveres through it.

Reviews

Write Your Own Review
Only registered users can write reviews. Please Sign in or create an account