12-28-21

11hrs 25min

Abridgement

Unabridged

Genre

Fiction/Fantasy

As low as $0.00
Play Audio Sample

12-28-21

11hrs 25min

Abridgement

Unabridged

Genre

Fiction/Fantasy

Description

“Brooding and atmospheric.” Kirkus Reviews

A lush, gothic fantasy from debut author Lyndall Clipstone about monsters and magic, set on the banks of a cursed lake, perfect for fans of Naomi Novik and Brigid Kemmerer

When Violeta Graceling and her younger brother Arien arrive at the haunted Lakesedge estate, they expect to find a monster. Leta knows the terrifying rumors about Rowan Sylvanan, who drowned his entire family when he was a boy. But neither the estate nor the monster are what they seem.

As Leta falls for Rowan, she discovers he is bound to the Lord Under, the sinister death god lurking in the black waters of the lake—a creature to whom Leta is inexplicably drawn. Now, to save Rowan—and herself—Leta must confront the darkness in her past, including unraveling the mystery of her connection to the Lord Under.

Praise

“Brooding and atmospheric.” Kirkus Reviews

“A linguistically lush fantasy.” Publishers Weekly

“Reminiscent of the romantically gothic atmosphere of The Phantom of the Opera.” Dawn Kurtagich, author of The Dead House

Details
More Information
Language English
Release Day Dec 27, 2021
Release Date December 28, 2021
Number in Series 1
Series Display String The World at the Lake's Edge Duology
Release Date Machine 1640649600
Imprint Blackstone Publishing
Provider Blackstone Publishing
Categories New Audiobook Releases, Teen & Young Adult, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Children/YA, YA, Fiction - All, Fiction - Child
Author Bio
Lyndall Clipstone

Lyndall Clipstone is an author and a former youth librarian who grew up in the Barossa Ranges of South Australia. She has a bachelors degree in creative writing and a graduate diploma in library and information management. Lakesedge is her debut novel. You can find her on Twitter and Instagram: @LKClipstone.

Narrator Bio
Emily Lawrence

Emily Lawrence, an actor and writer, is passionate about bringing stories to life. Her greatest strength as a performer is her ability to bring herself to the role, creating a wide range of emotionally resonant performances that leap off the page, stage, or screen. Her favorite characters are complicated, conflicted, and still searching for their inner truths. She has narrated more than 425 audiobooks, many of which were USA Today or New York Times bestsellers, and has also worked in film, television, and theater. Born and raised in New York, she moved to Los Angeles shortly after receiving her BFA in drama from New York University’s Tisch School of the Arts. She also lived in London while studying at the Royal Academy of Dramatic Art.  Her greatest loves are acting and reading, so narrating audiobooks is a dream come true. Her other passions include traveling, LARPing, aerial circus, and chocolate.

Overview

A lush, gothic fantasy from debut author Lyndall Clipstone about monsters and magic, set on the banks of a cursed lake, perfect for fans of Naomi Novik and Brigid Kemmerer

When Violeta Graceling and her younger brother Arien arrive at the haunted Lakesedge estate, they expect to find a monster. Leta knows the terrifying rumors about Rowan Sylvanan, who drowned his entire family when he was a boy. But neither the estate nor the monster are what they seem.

As Leta falls for Rowan, she discovers he is bound to the Lord Under, the sinister death god lurking in the black waters of the lake—a creature to whom Leta is inexplicably drawn. Now, to save Rowan—and herself—Leta must confront the darkness in her past, including unraveling the mystery of her connection to the Lord Under.

Reviews

Write Your Own Review
Only registered users can write reviews. Please Sign in or create an account