08-18-20

13hrs 49min

Abridgement

Unabridged

Genre

Fiction/Fantasy

As low as $0.00
Play Audio Sample

08-18-20

13hrs 49min

Abridgement

Unabridged

Genre

Fiction/Fantasy

Description

“Jordan Ifueko creates a bold new world in her debut book.” Seventeen

Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award
Finalist for the Hugo Award for Best YA Novel
Finalist for the Nebula Award for Best Middle Grade & YA Fiction 
Finalist for the 2020 Voice Arts Award
Finalist for the Audie Award for Best Fantasy Narration
An NPR Best Book of the Year for Children
A Buzzfeed Best Books of the Year Pick in YA Speculative Fiction
An Audiofile Magazine “Best of the Year” pick
New York Times bestseller in Children's & YA Hardcover Fiction
A Minneapolis Star-Tribune Pick of Great Escapes
An io9 Pick of the Month
A Booklist Pick of Audiobooks of the Month
A BookRiot Pick for Spring
A Tor.com Reviewers' Choice of the Month
An Electric Literature Pick of Debut Fantasy Novels Featuring Black Women
A Kirkus Reviews Pick of Best Books of Summer
A Publishers Weekly Pick of the Week
See All +

The epic debut YA fantasy from an incredible new talent—perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi and Sabaa Tahir

Nothing is more important than loyalty. But what if you’ve sworn to protect the one you were born to destroy?

Tarisai has always longed for the warmth of a family. She was raised in isolation by a mysterious, often absent mother known only as the Lady. The Lady sends her to the capital of the global empire of Aritsar to compete with other children to be chosen as one of the Crown Prince’s Council of Eleven. If she’s picked, she’ll be joined with the other Council members through the Ray, a bond deeper than blood. That closeness is irresistible to Tarisai, who has always wanted to belong somewhere. But the Lady has other ideas, including a magical wish that Tarisai is compelled to obey: kill the Crown Prince once she gains his trust. Tarisai won’t stand by and become someone’s pawn—but is she strong enough to choose a different path for herself?

With extraordinary world-building and breathtaking prose, Raybearer is the story of loyalty, fate, and the lengths we’re willing to go for the ones we love.

Praise

“Jordan Ifueko creates a bold new world in her debut book.” Seventeen

“[An] immersive and powerful debut.” Minneapolis Star Tribune

“Fresh and utterly transportive, Raybearer is a fantastical fight for freedom, family, and justice at all costs.” Heidi Heilig, author of The Girl from Everywhere

“Ifueko’s world building and prose is nothing short of seductive and I completely adore Tarisai’s headstrong, tragic self. This will be a major gem of a release in 2020!” Jessica Khoury, author of The Forbidden Wish

 “The ultimate escapist read…Enthralling.” Napa Valley Register

“Joniece Abbott-Pratt’s evocative narration skillfully complements Ifueko’s vibrant multilayered fantasy…Abbott-Pratt’s richly expressive characterizations imbue a fascinating cast with warmth and complexity, and her expert delivery evokes the listener’s curiosity at each turn. Winner of AudioFile Earphones Award.” AudioFile

"Raybearer is an excellent and needed addition to diverse fantasy, and the writing and characters immediately captivated me.” BuzzFeed

“I love it when characters are faced with impossible choices. Even better, add magic. I was hooked from page one.” Electric Literature

“A fresh, phenomenal fantasy that begs readers to revel in its brilliant world.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Ifueko’s mesmerizing debut stuns as it weaves a tale of loyalty, fate, destiny, family, and revenge. Moreover, it places a dark skinned heroine front and center, who is beautiful and powerful, deadly and compassionate, and vulnerable and tough, giving YA literature more of the diverse representation teens need.” Booklist (starred review)

“By crafting a world plagued by imperialism, poverty, and institutionalized misogyny and a mythology that literalizes the power of love, purpose, and sacrifice, Ifueko illustrates the need for social change and inspires readers to fight for it.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Completely blown away! Tarisai’s tale set my imagination on fire.” Ebony Elizabeth Thomas, author of The Dark Fantastic

+ More
Details
More Information
Language English
Release Day Aug 17, 2020
Release Date August 18, 2020
Number in Series 1
Series Display String The Raybearer Series
Release Date Machine 1597708800
Imprint Blackstone Publishing
Provider Blackstone Publishing
Categories At The Movies, Teen & Young Adult, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Literature & Fiction, New York Times Bestsellers, Children/YA, YA
Author Bio
Jordan Ifueko

Jordan Ifueko is the bestselling author of the Raybearer series and other stories, including short fiction in the Hugo-nominated magazine Strange Horizons. She has been a finalist for the Nebula Award and has been featured on BuzzFeed, NPR, and others. She writes about magic Black girls who aren’t magic all the time, because honestly, they deserve a vacation. Follow her on instagram @jordanifueko.

Narrator Bio
Joniece Abbott-Pratt

Joniece Abbott-Pratt has narrated many audiobooks for children, young adults, and adults. She has won several AudioFile Earphones Awards and in 2021 was a finalist for the prestigious Audie Award for Best Fantasy Narration. She earned an MFA degree in acting from the University of Iowa and has performed on regional theater stages across the country, including the Public Theater in New York City. She has also appeared on television shows, including The Good Fight, Law and Order: SVU, Luke Cage, and Orange Is the New Black, and has voiced commercials and projects for US Bank, Johnson & Johnson, and others.

Overview

Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award
Finalist for the Hugo Award for Best YA Novel
Finalist for the Nebula Award for Best Middle Grade & YA Fiction 
Finalist for the 2020 Voice Arts Award
Finalist for the Audie Award for Best Fantasy Narration
An NPR Best Book of the Year for Children
A Buzzfeed Best Books of the Year Pick in YA Speculative Fiction
An Audiofile Magazine “Best of the Year” pick
New York Times bestseller in Children's & YA Hardcover Fiction
A Minneapolis Star-Tribune Pick of Great Escapes
An io9 Pick of the Month
A Booklist Pick of Audiobooks of the Month
A BookRiot Pick for Spring
A Tor.com Reviewers' Choice of the Month
An Electric Literature Pick of Debut Fantasy Novels Featuring Black Women
A Kirkus Reviews Pick of Best Books of Summer
A Publishers Weekly Pick of the Week
See All +

The epic debut YA fantasy from an incredible new talent—perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi and Sabaa Tahir

Nothing is more important than loyalty. But what if you’ve sworn to protect the one you were born to destroy?

Tarisai has always longed for the warmth of a family. She was raised in isolation by a mysterious, often absent mother known only as the Lady. The Lady sends her to the capital of the global empire of Aritsar to compete with other children to be chosen as one of the Crown Prince’s Council of Eleven. If she’s picked, she’ll be joined with the other Council members through the Ray, a bond deeper than blood. That closeness is irresistible to Tarisai, who has always wanted to belong somewhere. But the Lady has other ideas, including a magical wish that Tarisai is compelled to obey: kill the Crown Prince once she gains his trust. Tarisai won’t stand by and become someone’s pawn—but is she strong enough to choose a different path for herself?

With extraordinary world-building and breathtaking prose, Raybearer is the story of loyalty, fate, and the lengths we’re willing to go for the ones we love.

Reviews

Write Your Own Review
Only registered users can write reviews. Please Sign in or create an account