Send for Me

Lauren Fox

Natasha Soudek (Narrator)

02-02-21

7hrs 9min

Abridgement

Unabridged

Genre

Fiction/Historical

As low as $0.00
Play Audio Sample

02-02-21

7hrs 9min

Abridgement

Unabridged

Genre

Fiction/Historical

Description

“Reads like a memoir but has the kind of intimate detail born in the imagination of a novelist at the top of her game.” People

A New York Times bestseller
A New York Times Notable Book of 2021
A Parade Magazine Pick of Best Books of the Year
A "Read with Jenna" Today Show Book Club Pick
An Indie Next List Great Read Pick

An achingly beautiful work of historical fiction that moves between Germany on the eve of World War II and present-day Wisconsin, unspooling a thread of love, longing, and the powerful bonds of family

Annelise is a dreamer: imagining her future while working at her parents’ popular bakery in Feldenheim, Germany, anticipating all the delicious possibilities yet to come. There are rumors that anti-Jewish sentiment is on the rise, but Annelise and her parents can’t quite believe that it will affect them; they’re hardly religious at all. But as Annelise falls in love, marries, and gives birth to her daughter, the dangers grow closer: a brick thrown through her window; a childhood friend who cuts ties with her; customers refusing to patronize the bakery. Luckily Annelise and her husband are given the chance to leave for America, but they must go without her parents, whose future and safety are uncertain.

Two generations later, in a small Midwestern city, Annelise’s granddaughter, Clare, is a young woman newly in love. But when she stumbles upon a trove of her grandmother’s letters from Germany, she sees the history of her family’s sacrifices in a new light, and suddenly she’s faced with an impossible choice: the past, or her future. A novel of dazzling emotional richness, Send for Me is a major departure for this acclaimed author, an epic and intimate exploration of mothers and daughters, duty and obligation, hope and forgiveness.

Praise

“Reads like a memoir but has the kind of intimate detail born in the imagination of a novelist at the top of her game.” People

“Beautifully written, deeply felt…[a] vivid depiction of a family’s heartbreak, its rending and rebuilding.” New York Times Book Review

“Real family letters from Nazi era heighten Send for Me…to portray four generations of women in a family ruptured by the Nazi regime.” Milwaukee Journal Sentinel

 “An artfully constructed and richly absorbing novel that shows how love is strengthened, not weakened, over distance and time.” Minneapolis Star-Tribune

“An intimate, insightful, intricately rendered story of intergenerational trauma and love.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Fox satisfyingly brings this story of love and desire full circle, as Clare and Ruth reflect on what it means to be both a mother and a child in the darkest of times…Tender and deeply inspired.” Publishers Weekly

“This thoughtful, character-driven exploration of the unbreakable bonds of motherhood will appeal to fans of Alice Hoffman and Elizabeth Berg.” Booklist

“A beautifully told story of intergenerational loves and sorrows, the long shadow of memory, and how hope can repair the heartache woven into a family’s DNA.” Jennifer Rosner, author of The Yellow Bird Sings

“Moving, heartfelt, and filled with love.” Whitney Scharer, author of Age of Light

+ More
Details
More Information
Language English
Release Day Feb 1, 2021
Release Date February 2, 2021
Release Date Machine 1612224000
Imprint Blackstone Publishing
Provider Blackstone Publishing
Categories NYT Best of '21, Book Club Favorites, Literature & Fiction, Historical Fiction, World Literature, Literature & Fiction, New York Times Bestsellers, Book Club, Literature & Fiction
Author Bio
Lauren Fox

Lauren Fox is the author of four novels, including Send for Me, which was named a best book of the year by the New York Times and Parade magazine. She earned her MFA degree from the University of Minnesota, and her work has appeared in the New York Times, Marie Claire, Seventeen, Glamour, and Salon.

Narrator Bio
Natasha Soudek

Natasha Soudek was raised in the South, speaks native German, lived in Berlin and Vienna, and finally settled in the Lower East Side of New York City. After honing her stage presence by studying acting and playing hundreds of live music shows (singing and playing bass), she moved to LA to record with Channel/DreamWorks and act on TV. Her voice is as distinct and memorable as the range of characters she’s played on-screen.

Overview

A New York Times bestseller
A New York Times Notable Book of 2021
A Parade Magazine Pick of Best Books of the Year
A "Read with Jenna" Today Show Book Club Pick
An Indie Next List Great Read Pick

An achingly beautiful work of historical fiction that moves between Germany on the eve of World War II and present-day Wisconsin, unspooling a thread of love, longing, and the powerful bonds of family

Annelise is a dreamer: imagining her future while working at her parents’ popular bakery in Feldenheim, Germany, anticipating all the delicious possibilities yet to come. There are rumors that anti-Jewish sentiment is on the rise, but Annelise and her parents can’t quite believe that it will affect them; they’re hardly religious at all. But as Annelise falls in love, marries, and gives birth to her daughter, the dangers grow closer: a brick thrown through her window; a childhood friend who cuts ties with her; customers refusing to patronize the bakery. Luckily Annelise and her husband are given the chance to leave for America, but they must go without her parents, whose future and safety are uncertain.

Two generations later, in a small Midwestern city, Annelise’s granddaughter, Clare, is a young woman newly in love. But when she stumbles upon a trove of her grandmother’s letters from Germany, she sees the history of her family’s sacrifices in a new light, and suddenly she’s faced with an impossible choice: the past, or her future. A novel of dazzling emotional richness, Send for Me is a major departure for this acclaimed author, an epic and intimate exploration of mothers and daughters, duty and obligation, hope and forgiveness.

Reviews

Write Your Own Review
Only registered users can write reviews. Please Sign in or create an account