The Girls in the Stilt House : A Novel

Kelly Mustian

Johanna Parker (Narrator)

04-06-21

9hrs 56min

Abridgement

Unabridged

Genre

Fiction

As low as $0.00
Play Audio Sample

04-06-21

9hrs 56min

Abridgement

Unabridged

Genre

Fiction

Description

“Authentic characters complement the vivid setting…in this nearly flawless tale of loss, perseverance, and redemption.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)

A USA Today Bestseller

Murder breaks through the racial divide that separates two teenage girls, forging an unlikely friendship in this Southern debut that’s perfect for fans of Where the Crawdads Sing and If the Creek Don’t Rise.

Ada promised herself she would never go back to the Trace, to her unbearable life on the swamp, and to her harsh father in Mississippi. But now, after running away to Baton Rouge and briefly knowing a different kind of life, she finds herself with nowhere to go but back home. And she knows there will be a price to pay with her father.

Matilda, daughter of a sharecropper, is from the other side of the Trace. Doing what she can to protect her family from the whims and demands of some particularly callous locals is an ongoing struggle. She forms a plan to go north, to pack up the secrets she’s holding about her life in the South and hang them on the line for all to see.

As the two girls are drawn deeper into a dangerous world of bootleggers and moral corruption, they must come to terms with the complexities of their tenuous bond and a hidden past that links them in ways that could cost them their lives.

Praise

“Authentic characters complement the vivid setting…in this nearly flawless tale of loss, perseverance, and redemption.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Classic Southern reading.” Library Journal

“Highly readable [with a] richly realized setting.” Booklist

“An astonishingly assured debut…the best book I’ve read in a very long time. A triumph!” Elizabeth Letts, #1 New York Times bestselling author

“Mustian’s lyrical prose, combined with her deep insight into the resiliency of the human spirit, makes this novel shine.” Karen Dionne, author of The Wicked Sister

“[A] rich debut…We ache for their sorrows, we cheer for their victories, and we recognize both ourselves and our nation in their troubles and their hopes.” Jon Clinch, author of Marley

“In prose that is stunning and assured, Kelly Mustian forges a powerful story of two young women, thrust together after unspeakable loss and devastation, and their courageous struggle to emerge from their darkest hours.” Jessica Keener, author of Strangers in Budapest

+ More
Details
More Information
Language English
Release Day Apr 5, 2021
Release Date April 6, 2021
Release Date Machine 1617667200
Imprint Blackstone Publishing
Provider Blackstone Publishing
Categories Literature & Fiction, Women's Fiction, Historical Fiction, Most Popular, Literature & Fiction
Author Bio
Kelly Mustian

Kelly Mustian grew up in Natchez, Mississippi, the southern terminus of the historic Natchez Trace. Her work has appeared in numerous literary journals and commercial magazines, and she is a past recipient of a Blumenthal Writers Award and a Regional Artist Grant from the North Carolina Arts & Science Council. She currently lives near the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains in North Carolina. The Girls in the Stilt House is her debut novel.

Narrator Bio
Johanna Parker

Johanna Parker is an Audie and Earphone Award–winning actress living and working in San Francisco. Since narrating her first audiobook in 2002, she has received praise for her work in all genres, including her portrayal of Sookie Stackhouse in Charlaine Harris’ Southern Vampire books. She received her BFA in acting from Boston University and studied Shakespeare at the Royal Academy of Dramatic Art in London. She has performed on stages in London, Los Angeles, Seattle, and New York and has numerous film and television credits. As a voice-over actress, she has voiced commercials, video games, documentaries, and websites.

Overview

A USA Today Bestseller

Murder breaks through the racial divide that separates two teenage girls, forging an unlikely friendship in this Southern debut that’s perfect for fans of Where the Crawdads Sing and If the Creek Don’t Rise.

Ada promised herself she would never go back to the Trace, to her unbearable life on the swamp, and to her harsh father in Mississippi. But now, after running away to Baton Rouge and briefly knowing a different kind of life, she finds herself with nowhere to go but back home. And she knows there will be a price to pay with her father.

Matilda, daughter of a sharecropper, is from the other side of the Trace. Doing what she can to protect her family from the whims and demands of some particularly callous locals is an ongoing struggle. She forms a plan to go north, to pack up the secrets she’s holding about her life in the South and hang them on the line for all to see.

As the two girls are drawn deeper into a dangerous world of bootleggers and moral corruption, they must come to terms with the complexities of their tenuous bond and a hidden past that links them in ways that could cost them their lives.

Reviews

Write Your Own Review
Only registered users can write reviews. Please Sign in or create an account