The Passenger : How a Travel Writer Learned to Love Cruises & Other Lies from a Sinking Ship

Chaney Kwak

Keong Sim (Narrator)

06-08-21

3hrs 34min

Abridgement

Unabridged

Genre

Nonfiction/Biography & Autobiography

As low as $0.00
Play Audio Sample

06-08-21

3hrs 34min

Abridgement

Unabridged

Genre

Nonfiction/Biography & Autobiography

Description

“A great read.” San Francisco Examiner

A Washington Post Best Audiobook of 2021
A Travel+Leisure Magazine Pick of Best Summer Reads

In March 2019, the Viking Sky cruise ship was struck by a bomb cyclone in the North Atlantic. Rocked by fifty-foot swells and forty-knot gales, the ship lost power and began to drift straight toward the notoriously dangerous Hustadvika coast in Norway. This is the suspenseful, harrowing, funny, touching story by one passenger who contemplated death aboard that ship.

Chaney Kwak is a travel writer used to all sorts of mishaps on the road, but this is a first even for him: trapped on the battered cruise ship, he stuffs his passport into his underwear just in case his body has to be identified. As the massive cruise ship sways in surging waves, Kwak holds on and watches news of the impending disaster unfold on Twitter, where the ship’s nearly 1,400 passengers are showered with “thoughts and prayers.” Kwak uses his twenty-seven hours aboard the teetering ship to examine his family history, maritime tragedies, and the failing relationship back on shore with a man he’s loved for nearly two decades: the Viking Sky, he realizes, may not be the only sinking ship he needs to escape.

The Passenger takes listeners on an unforgettable journey from the Norwegian coast to the South China Sea, from post-WWII Korea to pandemic-struck San Francisco. Kwak weaves his personal experience into events spanning decades and continents to explore the serendipity and the relationships that move us.

Praise

“A great read.” San Francisco Examiner

“Titanic clarity and humor that’s as dark as it is dry.” Travel + Leisure magazine

“Beautifully written…Keong Sim narrates the book in a serene, resonant voice, capturing the author’s wry humor and feelings of awe and fatalism. This is a marvelous book, superbly delivered.” Washington Post (audio review)

“For fans of The Perfect Storm, In the Heart of the Sea, and Bill Bryson on his sassiest days.” Afar Travel Magazine and Guide

“Thoughtful, exciting, and often hilarious.” New York Post

“A gripping adventure tale…a solemn reminder not to wait until we might be dying to think hard about life.” Minneapolis Star Tribune

“With its bare-bones honesty and dry, cynical humor, reveals that…it’s the little things that matter.“ Foreword Reviews (starred review)

“This powerful memoir about making tough choices and finding new directions will appeal to a variety of travel readers.” Library Journal

“A cruise gone terribly wrong frees a veteran travel writer to tell the truth—and Chaney Kwak, mordant and urbane, makes the most of the opportunity.” Ted Conover, author of The Routes of Man

+ More
Details
More Information
Language English
Release Day Jun 7, 2021
Release Date June 8, 2021
Release Date Machine 1623110400
Imprint Blackstone Publishing
Provider Blackstone Publishing
Categories Business & Careers, Biographies & Memoirs, Politics & Social Sciences, Social Sciences, Travel & Tourism, Travel Writing & Commentary, Adventure Travel, LGBTQ+, Nonfiction - Adult, Nonfiction - All
Author Bio
Chaney Kwak

Chaney Kwak has been traversing the globe for over a decade to write about food and travel. His work appears regularly in the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Condé Nast Traveler, Food and Wine, and Travel + Leisure. He teaches writing at the Stanford Continuing Studies program.

Narrator Bio

Overview

A Washington Post Best Audiobook of 2021
A Travel+Leisure Magazine Pick of Best Summer Reads

In March 2019, the Viking Sky cruise ship was struck by a bomb cyclone in the North Atlantic. Rocked by fifty-foot swells and forty-knot gales, the ship lost power and began to drift straight toward the notoriously dangerous Hustadvika coast in Norway. This is the suspenseful, harrowing, funny, touching story by one passenger who contemplated death aboard that ship.

Chaney Kwak is a travel writer used to all sorts of mishaps on the road, but this is a first even for him: trapped on the battered cruise ship, he stuffs his passport into his underwear just in case his body has to be identified. As the massive cruise ship sways in surging waves, Kwak holds on and watches news of the impending disaster unfold on Twitter, where the ship’s nearly 1,400 passengers are showered with “thoughts and prayers.” Kwak uses his twenty-seven hours aboard the teetering ship to examine his family history, maritime tragedies, and the failing relationship back on shore with a man he’s loved for nearly two decades: the Viking Sky, he realizes, may not be the only sinking ship he needs to escape.

The Passenger takes listeners on an unforgettable journey from the Norwegian coast to the South China Sea, from post-WWII Korea to pandemic-struck San Francisco. Kwak weaves his personal experience into events spanning decades and continents to explore the serendipity and the relationships that move us.

Reviews

Write Your Own Review
Only registered users can write reviews. Please Sign in or create an account